United States Mint Announces 2025 American Women Quarters™ Program Coins

October 17, 2023

WASHINGTON – The United States Mint (Mint) announces the honorees for the 2025 American Women QuartersProgram.  This is the fourth and final year of this historic program featuring coins with reverse (tails) designs emblematic of the accomplishments and contributions of American women.  The Mint facilities at Philadelphia and Denver will manufacture these circulating quarters honoring these women.

“I am pleased to announce the final five of the 20 remarkable women we have featured in the American Women Quarters Program,” said Mint Director Ventris C. Gibson.  “It’s a privilege for the Mint to connect America through coins, and to tell our nation’s story through honoring the women in this amazing program.  The pioneering women we have recognized are among the many in our nation’s history who have made significant contributions and championed change in their own unique way.”

As stipulated by Public Law 116-330 , the Secretary of the Treasury selects the women to be honored following consultation with the Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum, the National Women’s History Museum, and the Congressional Bipartisan Women’s Caucus.

Ida B. Wells was a pioneering investigative journalist, suffragist, and civil rights activist, who co-founded the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).  Wells used her powerful voice to speak out against and investigate lynching and other social injustices against Black people.  She traveled across the nation and internationally, shedding light on state-sanctioned violence, despite dangers she faced.  She was also an active participant in the women’s club and suffrage movements and later engaged in social work in the growing city of Chicago.

Juliette Gordon Low founded the Girl Scouts organization in America on March 12, 1912, in Savannah, Georgia, envisioning an organization that was accessible to girls, regardless of differences – a place where girls could develop leadership and advocacy skills to better their lives, as well as nurture their strengths and passions.  She devoted her life to promoting and growing the Girl Scouts to the international organization it is today with nearly two million adult and girl members worldwide.  Low personally embodied many of the traits that are found throughout Girl Scouting.  She founded a movement that prepared girls for leadership eight years before women gained the right to vote in the U.S. and emphasized civic responsibility, motivating girls to make their communities better places through service.

Dr. Vera Rubin was a trailblazing astronomer who pioneered work on galaxy rotation.  Her observations provided the first persuasive evidence of dark matter, a major scientific discovery that transformed our understanding of the universe.  During the 1970s, Dr. Rubin’s work produced clear observational evidence that confirmed the vast majority of the mass in the universe is invisible.  Early in her career, Rubin struggled to gain recognition as a female astronomer in a male-dominated field, and throughout her career she fought to bring down barriers to research that women face due to sexism.  In addition to her research, Rubin mentored other women astronomers and fought for gender parity in science.  Rubin pushed for representation of women on scientific committees, as conference speakers, and as professors.

Stacey Park Milbern was a visionary leader and powerful activist for people with disabilities.  Born with congenital muscular dystrophy, she was introduced to disability rights history as a teenager where she found her sense of community and terrific passion for activism.  The Governor of North Carolina appointed her to the statewide Independent Living Council and Commission for the Blind.  She was instrumental in the writing and passage of the North Carolina law requiring that a disability curriculum be taught in schools.  She also co-founded the disability justice framework, focused on serving marginalized communities.  Her visionary speeches and online writings inspired empowerment, inclusiveness, and interdependence.  She directly supported people with disabilities transitioning from institutional care to living independently.  In 2014, President Obama appointed her to the President’s Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities.  During the COVID-19 pandemic and climate emergencies, Milbern raised awareness of dangers threatening access to lifesaving care.  She formed a mutual aid network to provide critical resources to disabled people isolated by shelter-in-place orders.

Althea Gibson was a trailblazing multi-sport athlete who accomplished an impressive list of firsts throughout her athletic career.  As the first black athlete to break the color barrier at the highest level in tennis, Gibson won 11 Grand Slam titles by the end of the 1950s, including multiple championships at Wimbledon, the U.S. Open, and the French Open in both singles and doubles.  She was voted the 1958 Female Athlete of the Year by the Associated Press, and was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the International Women’s Sports Hall of Fame.  Not content with one sport, she also became the first Black player to compete in the Women’s Professional Golf Tour.

The designs for the quarters featuring the 2025 honorees will be unveiled in 2024.

The American Women Quarters Program is authorized by Public Law 116-330.  Beginning in 2022 and continuing through 2025, the Mint is issuing five quarters in each of these years.  The ethnically, racially, and geographically diverse group of individuals honored through this program reflects a wide range of accomplishments and fields, including suffrage, civil rights, abolition, government, humanities, science, space, and the arts.

Numismatic Products

We invite you to learn more and enroll in the American Women Quarters Program today.  Limited quantities will be produced, so sign up to ensure you receive a complete collection of American Women Quarters Program numismatic products.

About the United States Mint

Congress created the United States Mint in 1792, and the Mint became part of the Department of the Treasury in 1873.  As the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage, the Mint is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce.  The Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; silver and bronze medals; and silver and gold bullion coins.  Its numismatic programs are self-sustaining and operate at no cost to taxpayers.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.